6 Book Recommendations for Teens – Get Reading this Summer

0

Just in time for summer, the 2022 Flume Book Award Nominees for 9-12th graders were just announced. Whether you have the passionate reader in your home or the reluctant teen reader in your home, there is something for everyone! Check out these 6 book recommendations for teens that will surely hook them this summer!

Friendship and Romance

You Should See MeYou Should See Me In a Crown by Leah Johnson

Liz has dreams of how to break out of her “small, rich, prom-obsessed midwestern town’ where she feels “too black, too poor and too awkward”. Study music at college, go to med school, and GET OUT. She is motivated but one thing stands in her way. Money. Unless she can win the Prom Queen scholarship… Sweet and clever, you’ll be cheering for Liz the whole time!

Social Justice

We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez

This is a timely story of three teens and their brave, terrifying, heartbreaking journey out of their dangerous life in Guatemala. They travel through Mexico, train-hopping and more, hoping to make it to the USA for a chance at life. With vivid characters and heart-wrenching detail, your teen will be transported to reality so different from most of ours on the Seacoast.

Dystopia and Magic

All These Monsters by Amy Tintera

Clara knows monsters. She’s lived her whole life with an abusive father. When a chance to join a private scrap fighting army comes, she joins up. She’d rather fight real monsters taking over the world than risk one more day at home with her dad. But when her team is stranded in France, they make a shocking discovery. Maybe the monsters you can see are better than the ones you don’t. Suspenseful and adventurous, All These Monsters is perfect for fans of Enders Game or Warcross

Cemetery Boys by Aiden Thomas

An emerging cult classic, Cemetery Boys is truly one of its kind. Yadriel is desperately trying to be accepted as a trans boy and a brujo by his Latinx family. No better time to prove his truth as a brujo, than to summon a dead soul to be before Dia De Los Muertos. When he accidentally summons the high school’s “bad boy” things quickly get complicated and terrifying. 

Suspense and Survival 

BeBe Not Far From Me by Mindy McGinnis

Mindy McGinnis is known for writing intense books. Be Not Far From Me is truly an intense wilderness survival story. Ashley has always felt more at home in the Smokies than in the house with her dad. But when a high school camping party goes horribly wrong, she finds herself seriously injured, down a ravine, and miles from anyone and anything. Fans of Hatchet, Wild, and Alone will devour this. 

A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder by Holly Jackson

This is perfect for fans of Serial or Making A Murderer. This investigative, murder mystery is primed for teens. 5 years ago, Andie was murdered in her small town. The accused was her kind and smart boyfriend, Sal. But Pip still doesn’t believe it so for her senior capstone project she sets out to clear up the confusion. However, someone does not want her sniffing around in the closed case and Pip finds her own life on the line.

PRO TIP: these book recommendations for teens are all great audiobooks (free with a New Hampshire library card) too. It is amazing how much faster chores and exercise go when you are listening to a good book. From a librarian’s perspective, listening to a book is just as good – and sometimes better- than reading it! 

Which of these will be on your teen’s TBR list? I’ve also shared other YA book recommendations from 2020. And I even have a list of some historical fiction your teens may love. Of course, remember you don’t have to be a teenager to enjoy any of these titles. 

 

 

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here